“The Sugar Diet”

Posted: December 19, 2011 in Don't get sick, Get healthier, Put on muscle

I just launched my first ebook The Dorm Diet this past Friday, and it’s selling like crazy! So I figured I would write about a different diet today. A lot of people who oppose CB are the body building type, and they say two things to me:

  1. It does not matter WHAT you eat as long as you do not surpass your daily individual caloric needs.
  2. You can eat whatever you want post-workout because your body is extremely insulin sensitive. Meaning all that food will go towards muscle building.

The fact of the matter is that BOTH of those are very true, and this is actually the base for one of the four diets in my ebook. BUT to see how their diet actually worked first hand I went ahead & followed these guidelines for  ten days. My sister got me a 4.5lb box of sour gummy worms for my 21st birthday, and I definitely was not going to let them just sit there, so I crushed the whole box over the ten day experiment.

 

4.5lbs!!!

In ten days I DID gain some muscle mass! However, I was also lifting HEAVY, so that probably helped too. Now, here is why I don’t recommend the body builders diet.

1) My energy level day-to-day was a lot lower than it usually is. It took SERIOUS work to get my ass to the gym.

2) My face started to break out. This is because food has a direct connection to acne. Interesting right? Check out the book “The Dietary Cure For Acne” by Loren Cordain .

3) My cravings were OUT OF CONTROL! I wanted pizza, burgers, popcorn, chips, & a bunch of shit like that I haven’t craved for awhile. I did hold myself back from eating all of that because I had to stay within my daily caloric intake, but it was difficult. I definitely wouldn’t have enough self-discipline to do that for more than 10 days.

4) I began to develop bacne (Back-nee)- The acne that shows up on the face of adolescents begins to show up on your back.

**That was what put me over the top. I can handle low energy levels, a zit or two on my face, and cravings for a little while, but when we are talking about bacne I can’t handle it anymore.**

So the point is that that diet does work for those of you looking to put on size, or get into the body building world, or are in your twenties & have a wicked fast metabolism. However, the fact is that food has a much bigger impact than just getting fat or gaining muscle. Food affects our energy levels, cravings, acne, and stress levels……and bacne…

Interestingly enough I am back on my regular diet now, and have been for the past couple days & my energy is picking up, my cravings are going down, my bacne disappeared, and my abs are becoming more defined.

Me & my sis, Jill, out on the town for my 21st! Don’t we look fly?

Do you guys feel change in energy when you eat? Let me know how you eat at collegebody@gmail.com

Comments
  1. pbbrittany says:

    Congrats on the book! What you wrote about is exactly why I stopped eating sugar a couple years ago. I felt like I couldn’t control myself around sweets, and I always felt so sluggish! Since then, my workouts have gotten so much more intense and I have more energy. 🙂 I love it!

  2. What?!? Your sister is JillFit??? How did I not know this? Haha, that is so awesome. You guys both rock. 🙂

    I couldn’t agree more about your results from the sugar filled diet. In the end, it’s calories in vs. calories out, however I advocate clean eating because of the way it makes me look, feel, and thrive. Plus, healthy eating does not mean gross and boring in my book. I like everything I eat, so it’s a win-win!

  3. doug says:

    couldn’t your breakouts also be from elevated testosterone levels as a direct result of lifting heavier?

Leave a Reply

